Chillicothe Dog Bites and Dog Attacks

Chillicothe and Ross County Dog Laws and Ordinances

Chillicothe Ohio dog bite lawyerThe City of Chillicothe, Ohio and Ross County have specific dog laws and ordinances in place to govern the behavior and actions of dogs and the responsibilities of dog owners, keepers and harborers.

These local laws coincide with Ohio’s dog laws on a state level.

There are local agencies that should be contacted when a dog attack has taken place anywhere in Chillicothe, Bainbridge, Clarksburg, Frankfort, Adelphi, Greenfield, Kingston, South Salem or any other town or village located within Ross County.

A directory of these local agencies is provided below.

Ross County, Ohio Dog Resource Directory

Ross County Health Department: (740) 775-1114
Ross County Dog Warden: (740) 772-5929
Ross County Sheriff Department: (740) 773-1186
City of Chillicothe: (740) 773-1191
Village of Adelphi: (740) 655-3443
Village of Frankfort: (740) 998-2896
Greenfield, Ohio: (937) 981-3500

What To Do If Bitten By A Dog in Ross County, Ohio

For tips and useful information on what you should do if bitten by a dog, we put together a dog bite checklist. View this dog bite checklist by visiting the following link:  Dog Bite Checklist

A dog that has bitten someone in Ross County will need to be detained and quarantined for a period of 10 days for observation.

During a rabies quarantine, the dog must be confined in a building, in a pen or on a chain at all times. The dog must be kept under control of its owner, harborer or keeper until the quarantine period is over and the dog has been examined and evaluated by a licensed veterinarian. If the dog cannot be properly quarantined and kept under control by its owner, harborer or keeper, the dog will be ordered to be quarantined with a veterinarian or the Ross County Dog Warden.

Answers for Questions and a Word of Caution

If you have questions about a dog attack that occurred within the City of Chillicothe or anywhere in Ross County, please contact us to discuss the attack at no cost and without any obligation. We are happy to answer your questions and provide you with the guidance that’s needed after a dog bite incident.

If you have been bitten by a dog and the dog owner’s insurance company has contacted you to discuss a settlement for your injuries and damages, please contact us to discuss whether or not the amount being offered is fair before accepting anything.

Many times the offer will not be a fair value for the injuries and damages you suffered. We will be able to help you determine if it is.

We’re available 24/7/365 by calling 1-888-998-9101, chatting with one of our live chat representatives or sending us a website message.

Ross County Dog License

Ross County Ohio Dog Bites and AttacksDog licenses must be obtained from Ross County when a dog reaches 3 months old. The license must be renewed each year of the dog’s life unless a three-year dog license or a permanent dog license is purchased.

For more information about dog licenses in Ross County, including current costs, fees and online dog purchasing options, please visit this link:  Ross County Dog Licensing

When a Dog Has Bitten Contact Us At Any Time

If you, your child, your spouse or a loved one has been bitten by a dog, we’re standing by to take your call.

Please contact us at any time of day and any day of the week for a free consultation with one of our experienced Ohio dog bite attorneys. You’ll learn what you need to know and what you need to do after a dog bite to protect yourself now and in the future.

You might also like:

Ohio Dog Bite Laws
Dog Bite Book
What To Do If Bitten By A Dog
Children’s Dog Bite Prevention Video
About Our Dog Bite Law Firm

Google Rating
4.9