Defiance Dog Bites and Dog Attacks

Defiance City and County Dog Laws and Ordinances

Defiance County Ohio Dog Bite LawyerThe City and County of Defiance, Ohio have specific dog laws and ordinances in place that govern dogs, their behavior and the responsibilities of dog owners, keepers and harborers.

These local laws coincide with Ohio’s state-level dog laws.

There are local agencies that should be contacted when a dog attack has taken place anywhere in Defiance, Hicksville, Ney, Sherwood or any other city, town or village located within Defiance County.

A directory of these local agencies is provided below.

Defiance County, Ohio Dog Resource Directory

Defiance County General Health District: (419) 784-3818
Defiance County Dog Warden: (419) 784-2335
Defiance County Auditor (Dog Licenses): (419) 782-1926
Defiance County Sheriff: (419) 784-1155
City of Defiance Police: (419) 784-5050
Village of Hicksville Police Department: (419) 542-6661
Village of Sherwood Police Department: (419) 899-2147

Defiance County Leash Law

Defiance County, Ohio has the following leash law:

No owner, keeper, or harborer of any dog shall fail at any time to keep it either physically confined or restrained upon the premises of the owner, keeper, or harborer by a leash, tether, adequate fence, supervision, or secure enclosure to prevent escape, or under reasonable control of some person, except when the dog is lawfully engaged in hunting accompanied by the owner, keeper, harborer, or handler.

Nuisance, Vicious and Dangerous Dog Laws

Defiance County defines a nuisance, vicious and dangerous dog as set forth below:

A “nuisance dog” as a dog that without provocation and while off the premises of its owner, keeper, or harborer has chased or approached a person in either a menancing fashion or an apparent attitude of attack or has attempted to bite or otherwise endanger any person.

A “dangerous dog” as a dog that, without provocation, has caused injury, other than killing or serious injury, to any person; has killed another dog; or has been the subject of a third or subsequent violation of a prohibition regarding general confinement and control of dogs.

A “vicious dog” as a dog that, without provocation, has killed or caused serious injury to any person and repeals the automatic inclusion of a pit bull dog as a vicious dog.

All owners of vicious dogs are required to obtain liability insurance with an insurer authorized in this state providing coverage of not less than $100,000.

What To Do If Bitten By A Dog in Defiance County

When a dog bites someone in Defiance County, it must be reported to the Defiance County General Health District within 24 hours for further action and investigation. The Defiance County Health District Animal Bite Report Form can be downloaded via this link:  Report Animal Bite in Defiance County

A dog that has bitten someone will need to be detained and quarantined for a period of 10 days for observation. During a rabies quarantine, the dog must be confined in a building, in a pen or on a chain at all times. The dog must be kept under control of its owner, harborer or keeper until the quarantine period is over and the dog has been examined and evaluated by a licensed veterinarian.

If the dog cannot be properly quarantined and kept under control by its owner, harborer or keeper, the dog will be ordered to be quarantined with a veterinarian or as directed by the Defiance County General Health District.

For more tips on what you should do if bitten by a dog, we put together a checklist to follow. View this dog bite checklist by visiting the following link:  Dog Bite Checklist

Answers To Dog Bite Questions

If you have questions about a dog attack that occurred within the City of Defiance or anywhere in Defiance County, please do not hesitate to contact us and discuss the attack at no cost and without any obligation. We are happy to answer your questions and provide you with the guidance that’s needed after a dog bite incident.

We’re available 24/7/365 by calling 1-888-998-9101, chatting with one of our live chat representatives or sending us a website message.

Defiance County Dog License

Defiance County Ohio Dog Laws and OrdinancesDog licenses must be obtained from Defiance County when a dog reaches 3 months old. The license must be renewed each year of the dog’s life unless a three-year dog license or a permanent dog license is purchased.

For more information about dog licenses in Defiance County and locations throughout the county where dog licenses can be obtained including online purchasing options, please visit this link: Defiance County Online Dog Licensing

The Legal Help You Need After a Dog Attack

If you, your spouse, your son, your daughter or other loved one has been bitten by a dog, we can provide you with the legal help needed after a dog attack. Please contact us at any time of day and any day of the week for a free consultation with one of our experienced Ohio dog bite attorneys. You’ll learn what you need to know and what you need to do after a dog bite to protect yourself now and in the future.

Just call us at 1-888-998-9101, chat with one of our 24-hour live chat representatives or send us a website message.

You might also like:

Ohio Dog Bite Laws
Dog Bite Book
What To Do If Bitten By A Dog
Children’s Dog Bite Prevention Video
About Our Dog Bite Law Firm

Google Rating
4.9